Ministry Lessons: Reproducing Yourself

In my conversations with students, I frequently use phrases like, “When you’re a high school volunteer…”. I always plant the ideas in their head that they will be youth ministry volunteers one day. I want them to see it as a natural progression for them to go from student to servants of students.

The hope is that when I’m not able to do youth ministry anymore, I will have inspired hundreds of people to carry the youth ministry torch. I want to inspire others to dedicate their lives to helping students discover Christ, serve him wholeheartedly, grow deeper in their faith, and worship him fervently while helping others do the same. In my eyes, there’s no higher calling. I see it as the most important thing I do with my life… even though I’m “Just” a volunteer.

The other night I received a trophy in the form of a Facebook message from one of my students. He has taken the challenge of ministering to others. With his permission, I’ve posted an image of the message below. I’ve reproduced my passion for ministry to students in the heart of Kyle who is, in turn, doing the same for a college Freshman. So great and rewarding to see God making a difference through our availability.

What it looks like to reproduce yourself in students

What it looks like to reproduce yourself in students